Snapchat is the latest social media app that has people of all ages using the unique social photo and video sharing app. The app was created to send photos and videos to another account for a specific amount of time, and once the time is expired, it will disappear. Through the latest updates, the app has gone beyond just sharing photos and videos. With new features like quick add, Snap Map, video chatting, and many others, the app can share sensitive information about a Snapchat account. Parents are always looking for ways to make sure their kids are safe on all social networks.
What Is Snapchat?
Snapchat originally started as a photo and video sharing app, where after a Snap was sent, it would disappear and couldn’t be saved. You can choose how long you will want the recipient to view the Snapchat from 1 to 10 seconds. You can also upload these Snaps to your story, where they will be displayed for 24 hours. Since its creation, the app has added many new features that have increased kid’s use of the platform tremendously.
The app has many unique features that have people everywhere raving about the social media app. With the latest updates, however, parents want to make sure their children are safe while using it. The new features have settings in place to make sure that kids are safe while on the app. Let’s look at some of the new features and how you can make sure your Snapchat account is secure.
– Quick Add
Quick add is a feature that helps you add friends faster and easier. If enabled, this will display your profile on other Snapchat accounts as “people you may know”, accounts the app thinks that you should follow. If this feature is disabled, then your account will not be displayed, and other users will have to search your name to add your account manually.
– Manage Who Can Contact and View Snaps
By default, the app will allow you to be contacted by anyone. To change this, you will need to open the profile page by clicking the icon on the top left of the screen. You will see a gear icon appear on the top right of the screen, tap on that icon. Scroll down until you see the category called WHO CAN. Here you can edit who can contact your account, view your stories, send you notifications, and see your location.
– Snap Map
By swiping down when you open the Snapchat app, the Snap Map will appear with the location of all your friends on your friend’s list. If you enable ghost mode, no one will be able to see your location from on Snap Map. If you see a person holding a sign with the Snapchat logo when you open the map, this means that ghost mode is already enabled.
– Replay Snap
Now you have the ability to replay recent snaps you are receiving by pressing and holding the snap you have recently received. This will allow you to view the last photo or video one more time, instead of it disappearing after viewing it once. It is essential to make sure the Snapchat photos you are sending do not contain any inappropriate content or anything that you do not want other Snapchat users to save or screenshot.
– Group Video Calling
Similar to FaceTime on the iPhone, you can now call other Snapchat users in a video chat. Users can call multiple people in the same call and see what other people are currently doing in real life. You will have the option to accept or reject the incoming call. You need to make sure the person you are trying to call is in your contact list to successfully make the call.
– Report and Block Accounts
You can block and report accounts you do not know or do not want to contact you. All you need to do is locate the profile and hold down on the person’s username. You should then see under the name it says View Friendship, click there. It will bring you to a new screen, and you will see three grey dots on the top right of the screen. Select those three dots, and a new screen should appear at the top in red. Here you will see the Block, Report, and Remove Friend options.
Is Snapchat Safe?
You may be wondering if the Snapchat app is safe for younger users. With the privacy settings in place, the app is safe for users of all ages. You want to make sure that your child’s Snapchat account is not sharing too much information from the device. By default, some of the features above will share your location, list you in quick add, or allow you to be contacted by anyone. Many parents have looked into using monitoring apps to further ensure their child’s safety on the app. Make sure you know what features you can use to keep your kid’s account protected, and do not let their account be vulnerable to the common threats of social media like cyberbullying and fake accounts.
Related Post: Guide To Social Media Safety For Parents